jump to navigation

*pondering* November 16, 2005

Posted by clumsyraine in Imported from LJ.
trackback

So.. after being married for more than 2 years, we’re finally getting ready to dive into the paperwork tornado that will be changing my last name legally to be Harry’s (think DMV/Vehicle Title, Social Security/IRS, Banks, Utilities, Creditors, School Loan, and on, and on (and I’ll probably be finding the ones I’m forgetting for the next 2 years)). I guess it hasn’t happened already because we’re lazy… and it’s probably happening now because of the cumulative effect of my DL expiring, losing my SS card awhile back, and needing to order new checks pretty soon. Just seems like a good time to get it taken care of… and it’s been kind of bugging me to be something different everywhere – either/or, or hyphenated – and I know I want Harry’s name, for myself and future children to be a nice and consistent little family unit.

But now that it’s about to happen… I’m starting to get sad about leaving behind my maiden name 😦

I mean, I don’t want to do anything else. I feel kind of disjointed sometimes not sharing Harry’s name legally. And I’ve hyphenated for two years.. definitely tired of that. And… my middle name has family significance, so dropping it and taking my maiden name for a middle name isn’t good either.

(All this started a bit ago when I signed a check… I realized I wouldn’t be signing that name much longer, after all this time… so I started playing around with signing my new name, and realized even after signing it in some form or another for 2 years it just isn’t very fluid yet. The whole thing feels odd… to be legally giving myself the name I’ve been using in my head since we got married.)

So all this rambling is to say… I have no idea. I’m doing what I’ve wanted to do for 2 years, but I’m just temporarily mopey about it.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

