jump to navigation

I should be committed… November 1, 2006

Posted by clumsyraine in NaBloPoMo.
trackback

Yes, I think I should probably be committed to the looney bin for this, but it’s too late now – NaBloPoMo is here, baby! And I’m committed.

Say what?
In answer to November’s National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo), November has been declared National Blog Posting Month! Check out Fussy’s page for more info. If you can pull off a blog post every single day of November (every day!) you’ll be up for some neat prize drawings at the end of the month. (But mostly, you’ll just get to say that you achieved it. Which, hey, achievement is good!)

The logistics of it may get a bit tricky in the end for me, as we very well could be at the in-laws’ around Thanksgiving (read: no internet, no computer, iffy cellphone connection). My plan so far is to craft a post on my cell phone… upload it to my LJ (if I try long enough, surely it will eventually get through… and yes, I bookmarked a cell phone LJ client already) and then import it over here when I return home. I think it’ll work…

Since I’m hoping to get a few new readers (um, since I have none, lol) I’ll introduce myself.

My name is Jen, I’m 23, 24 next month. I’m married to Harry, who just turned 30 in August. He has a gorgeous little girl named Olivia, she’s 3 1/2 and lives with her mom, so we get her about one weekend a month (this weekend! yay!). We have 3 fur babies (cats), Stitch & Ashes are 3 year old siblings, and Kiko is our 1 y/o drive-thru baby. Someone dumped her out of a car at Harry’s work last year (he was a manager at Whataburger at the time).

He’s since moved into the oil industry, sort of. He’s building & repairing seismic cables for a local company. I work in the office end of the oil industry, again, sort of. (We live in west Texas, so this is all very fitting.) The company I work for is a prospecting/exploration company that bought up a bunch of Internet Service Providers when the oil biz went bust a few years back. Oil biz is back, so now we do both. I can, and do, carry out much of my job from home.

That’s me, in a nutshell. I have no life, really. I live inside the computer. My husband forcibly extracts me from it once in awhile so we can do mundane things like eat or sleep, or less mundane things like play on the PS2. He works long hours… 5am to 5pm. The dayshift is still quite new to us, he used to work nights; we’re still getting acclimated to sleeping when the sun is down, and being awake when the sun is up. I don’t much like it; Harry, on the other hand, hates it with the fire of a thousand suns.

I shall now take my leave… and work, or eat, or take a nap.

Comments»

1. Kahli - November 2, 2006

Good luck on your NaBloPoMo effort!
Cheers,
Kahli


Leave a Reply

